Mostly Ghostly – a Quickie Review of Ghostly by Audrey Niffenegger

ghostlyIf you like ghost stories, then Ghostly may be a good selection for you. Ghostly by Audrey Niffenegger is a collection of ghost stories chosen by her and including an original by her. The ghost stories range from Poe to Saki to A.S. Byatt and Neil Gaiman and more. Some of them leave you with a little chill others are humorous. What they do all seem to have in common is that they deal with the home or home life or houses. And most of them are told in a quiet sort of voice.

As with all anthologies, not all stories will sit well with everyone. I found that in spite of it’s being a classic I didn’t like Poe’s “The Black Cat.” I did like Ms. Neffinegger’s original story, “Secret Life, with Cats” and many of the others. Unfortunately, the ones I didn’t like were near the beginning of the book and I almost didn’t give it a chance. I took a break from it and when I went back I found that it was indeed worth my time to read it.

For me, Ghostly ended up being a 4-star anthology. I liked more stories than I disliked. The collection was perfect reading for the end of October. It was published October 27, 2015 by Scribner.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

